

BSMT Annual Microbiology Conference

## Moderator profiles

## Dr Kate Templeton, Consultant Clinical Scientist, RIE and Honorary Senior Lecturer in Medical Microbiology



Kate Templeton, PhD, Consultant Clinical Scientist in Microbiology, Royal Infirmary Edinburgh, Honorary Senior lecturer in Medical Microbiology, University of Edinburgh

Dr. Kate Templeton is a Consultant Clinical Scientist in Microbiology in the Royal Infirmary Edinburgh and is an honorary Senior lecturer in Medical Microbiology at the University of Edinburgh. Her main focus is on clinically useful molecular diagnostics and molecular epidemiology and has several current research grants as well as collaborations with

diagnostic companies on developing new molecular assays for diagnosis across pathology. She has previously worked on an EU project in Leiden the Netherlands for 5 years. In 2006 and 2016 she was given awards from the European Society for Virology for her original contributions in the area of viral diagnosis.

Outside professional life, she is former international rower and Member of the British Olympic team for rowing in 1995-6. She is a mother of 2 children and married to Richard, who runs a B&B from home.

Kate is currently the President of the BSMT.

## Professor Brian I Duerden CBE, BSc, MD, FRCPath, FRCPEdin



Professor Brian Duerden, Emeritus Professor of Medical Microbiology at Cardiff University.

Professor Duerden qualified in medicine and microbiology at the University of Edinburgh in 1972. He was a Lecturer in Medical Microbiology in Edinburgh (1973-76) and in Sheffield University Medical School (1976) where he became Senior Lecturer (1979) and then

Professor of Medical Microbiology from 1983. He was also Consultant Medical Microbiologist to the Sheffield Children's Hospital. In 1991 he moved to the Chair of Medical Microbiology in the University of Wales College of Medicine, Cardiff, and the Directorship of the Cardiff Public Health Laboratory.

Brian has also acted as the Deputy Director and Medical Director of the PHLS (England and Wales) from 1995 and was appointed Director of the PHLS in August 2002 until it became part of the Health Protection Agency (HPA) in April 2003. In the HPA, he was Director for Clinical Quality until moving to the Department of Health in January 2004 as Inspector of Microbiology and Infection Control and Clinical Director for the HCAI programme. He retired from DH at the end of 2010 but continued to do independent consultancies until 2015. His major interests are in anaerobic microbiology, healthcare associated infection and antibiotic resistance. He has published over 150 scientific papers, edited and contributed to several textbooks and served for 20 years (1982-2002) as Editor in Chief of the Journal of Medical Microbiology. He was awarded a CBE for services to medicine and charity in 2008.